Home For An Orphan: OneNote Revisited

As a savvy technology user and a software developer,  I judge software very harshly, on an extensive list of criteria.  Generally speaking, I am happy with my judgements and will stand by them publicly where necessary, but sometimes I get it wrong.

My initial opinion of OneNote was that I didn’t need it because I didn’t have a Tablet PC, nor the money to buy, or physical capability to use  one.

While I am aware that OneNote has facilities for the millions of us still tethered to a keyboard, at the time my primary computing task was note-taking, and Word did and adequate job of that as far as I was concerned; besides, I did not have the inclination or time to learn the nuances of this new application, with it’s absolutely prodigal use of hotkeys as well as office and explorer integration.

Last night a friend of mine professed mad love for the runt of the Office System’s vast litter.

OneNote is one of the more rarely spoken of,applications in the Microsoft Office family, so the sudden mention of the little runt planted the seed, and by this afternoon my interest had piqued,.

My experience this time was better. OneNote doesn’t have a very intuitive user interface to the uninitiated user, but it starts to make more sense once you read the documentation presented to you at the outset.

I still haven’t had a chance to practically use OneNote yet, but I can defiantly see it’s merits over Word for note-taking purposes.

I plan to trial it for a while when my course starts later this month and I shall post my findings.

Leave a Reply

