Climbing: The Hole I’m In

Periods of lethargy are not uncommon for me, they normally arise from the need to resolve a problem or find an answer to a question that is critical to who I am, where I’m going and my inability to get there for whatever reason.

My most recent lethargy is a mixture of all of these things, however there are some additional factors which are unknown as of this writing that have protracted this period of sloth and dramatically intensified it, as evidenced by the fact that I have been neglectful of almost all coursework of late.

It’s a strange feeling to know that one can do what one loves, but feel so out of place doing it. As you should all know by now, I am talking about coding, and yes, I have been coding a lot recently, but for some reason I’m incapable of motivating myself to do it for the purposes of coursework.

I’m not sure why I haven’t been able to, I think it would be partially untrue to claim that it was because coursework is work and personal projects are fun, because on more than a few occasions the problems I have faced in completing my personal projects have been far more challenging than the coursework I have left incomplete.

One of the reasons coursework has been so unappealing is my perception of a discourse between what the course is asking me to do (i.e. memorising member names and method signatures) and the very different reality of .NET development (i.e. Visual Studio and IntelliSense), it seams unfair to me that developers are certified on the basis of remembering API signatures when doing so is rarely required of them in a work environment given the ubiquity of IDEs with some type of AutoComplete support.

My time at mums seems to be gradually releasing this block and I hope shortly to resume doing coursework, I’d like to do this now, but I’m without an internet connection capable of handling the volumes of data required to use the LMS.

Leave a Reply

