Slight Redevelopment

Hello World

It’s been a while since we spoke. Much about us both has changed in my absence. In keeping with tradition, I shall try to provide a path between then and now by way of facsimile.

Last we spoke, I was living on my own in Christchurch continuing on my apparently infinite quest toward a diploma in ICT. All of the above holds true today, except that I now know the finite nature of my quest as I can just about see graduation on the horizon, just beyond the two papers with which I currently contend.

In addition to my study, I’m also the disability representative on the student council this year. I’m not sure where this will take me, but I hope I can do some good in this role.

There have been some other developments in my life of late which require some background in order to be properly understood.

Many of you will know that I came to my current circumstances as a result of an intense period of rehabilitation. During this period my existence was funded by ACC, who recently determined that I’m no longer eligible for said funding.

Being between sources of income has a set of associated challenges and stresses which I’ve had to overcome.

Upon finding out that my income was to disappear, I began looking for work. This process has been long and often mentally and emotionally draining for a number of reasons including my lack of formal qualifications, accessibility issues and simple lack of response to applications.

At this juncture, I’d like to thank the friends and family I have who have supported me through my recent challenges.  I’d be in a significantly worse position without all of you.

I’m happy to report that my search for a job has ended. For the first time in my life I can say that I am employed. I feel a mix of excitement for the challenge and uncertainty in my ability to do nerd things in a commercial environment, partially because I’ve never done so before and partially because a chunk of what I’m working with is new to me.

As the night now gives way to the morning, I’ll yield to sleep for the moment.

 

Goodnight World

Leave a Reply

